Dempo sports club celebrates 50 glorious years

By on June 10, 2017
  • Pin It

Dempo Sports Club recently commemorated its Golden Jubliee with by releasing a book that documents the club’s rich history. The coffee table book was released by chief minister Manohar Parrikar in the presence of All India Football Federation (AIFF) president Praful Patel, chairman of Dempo Group of Companies Shrinivas Dempo and a top-50 player who was part of the first Dempo squad in 1967, Inacio Fernandes.

“When I was in Delhi, I learnt that outside Goa, Dempo is known more for football than their businesses. I congratulate Dempo Team for its phenomenal success during the last 50 years,” Parrikar said.

AIFF president and former Union Minister for Civil Aviation, Praful Patel paid a rich tribute to Dempo Sports Club.“The DNA of Goa can be only described in one word – football.  And it’s wonderful to be here to celebrate the 50-year journey of one of the most illustrious institutions of Goa – Dempo SC,” he added.

Chairman of Dempo Group Shrinivas Dempo revealed that it was a great moment for the Dempo family. “My father believed Goa and football can never be separated. Other than the IFA shield, our club has won every major title in India. It is a privilege that our club reached the Asian Football Confederation semi-final play-offs and have won the I-League a record five times in eight years,” he said.

He added that through their recently established football academy they are committed to providing 24 boys every support and hoped one day that some of his boys make it to Jaydev Mody’s FC Goa team.

Post a short screening of the golden years of the club, 50 eminent footballers of the club down the years chosen by a panel of judges were felicitated. Pallavi Dempo presented mementos to Parrikar and Patel.  

Prominent dignitaries present included four former chief ministers – Pratapsingh Rane, Ravi Naik, Francisco Sardinha and Digambar Kamat, cabinet ministers, Speaker Dr Pramod Sawant, MLA’s, Chief Secretary Dharmendra Sharma, President of Salgaocar sports club Shivanand Salgaocar, chairman of FC Goa Jaydev Mody, President of FC Goa Akshay Tandon, Panaji Mayor Surendra Futardo, Churchill Brothers CEO Valanka Alemao and other prominent football officials. 

General secretary of Dempo Sports Club Wilfred D’Souza proposed the vote of thanks. 

Vijayadevi & Pratapsingh Rane and Digambar Kamat

Vijai Sardesai


Surendra Furtado

Subhash Dempo

Siddharth kunkolienkar

Rohan Khaunte

Pandurang Madkaikar

Mauvin Godinho

Manohar Ajgaonkar

Jayesh Salgaonkar

Jaydev Mody

Francisco Sardinha

Francis D’Souza

Dr Pramod Sawant

Akshay Tandon
  • Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image